Guys Night

I remember back in the day before I moved in with my boyfriend, when I dreamed of being a typical house wife and always cooking and cleaning for him.

Sometimes I try and to be honest with you, sometimes I just don’t. Unfortunately for the men its not the 50’s any more and women now get jobs and make a living on their own and don’t have all the time in the world to cook for them. On the rare occasion though I still wish I would do more for him. This week I think I may have done just that by hosting his small guys night by cooking up some delicious mouth watering appetizers. I couldn’t even begin to tell you how long I spent going through my cook books and Pinterest just to get an idea of what I wanted to make. I finally got control of myself and decided on three different choices for the boys to chow down on.

There is one food that is an absolute must have for a guys night and that is Hot Wings! To top off the spiciness I also made some Bacon Wrapped Jalapeño poppers and Potato Wedges with cheese and green onion. It all turned out wonderfully except on the potatoes I wish I had the patience to keep them in the oven longer because they could have been a bit more crispy which is the best way to go. Each one of these recipes were super easy too and barely cost anything to make.

For the Hot Wings I did take a short cut and bought the frozen wing cuts instead of cutting each piece myself. Then after I cooked them, which was written on the bag and I stupidly forgot to take note of, I dipped each wing into a bowl will 1 cup of your choice red hot pepper sauce and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Easy as that!

IMG_0115

For the Bacon Wrapped Jalapeño Poppers I cut into each Jalapeño and scraped the center out along with most of the seeds. Then I took half a piece of white string cheese and stuffed it into the jalapeño. After I got all of them stuffed I wrapped a piece of Hickory bacon  around each pepper and put a tooth pick through it to ensure it didn’t unfold. Once I was finished setting them all up to go into the oven I sprayed the pan with non-stick spray and cooked them for about 10-15 minutes at 400°.

IMG_0116

Last but not least were the Potato Wedges. Now these take a little bit more time than the others. Pre-heat the oven to 425° and begin preparing the potatoes. First you want to wash them off as they can get a little dirty. Then cut each potato into whatever size piece you want your wedges to be and place them on a non-stick pan. Brush a tiny bit of olive oil on each wedge and place the pan into the oven for about an hour or until desired crispiness. Once they as crispy as you’d like, remove the pan from the oven and sprinkle cheese and onion on the tops and get to eating.

IMG_0117

I can’t wait until hockey or football starts up again because I know a lot more of these nights will be coming up and it will give me a chance to test my cooking skills and use some of my wonderful cook books. I have always dreamed of becoming a great chef and have the ability to look in a pantry and think of several different meal options but no, instead I look into a full pantry and not even be able to see one meal to eat or even a snack that I want. I have plenty of time to perfect that though, maybe I’ll even make my own cook book one day. Let me know what you think of this post in the comments below and give it a like if you want to see more posts like this. Thank you guys for all of your support and together lets make this a thriving blog, goodnight!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Guys Night

Leave a Reply

