Vanilla Cookie Tarts

The moment I saw this on Pinterest I knew what I had to do. I started up my oven and got to work! To be honest they do take some time to make but that was mainly because whenever I try a new recipe I tend to go a bit slower so I don’t mess it up. What I enjoyed with this recipe is that all the ingredients are basic baking ingredients that you will find in your everyday household such as flour, butter, powdered sugar, etc. The only part that I needed to purchase were the 4.5″ tart pans which I bought at Sur La Table for $4.00 a piece.

I had never made any form of tart before so I wasn’t too sure as to how this was going to turn out but I am very pleased with the final product. My one regret is that I wish I added more brown sugar to cookie dough portion because it does require quite a bit of flour which helps with the tart not sticking to the pan severely. I want to try to make different types of tarts now so if anyone knows a good tart recipe let me know. I’m thinking of doing maybe a strawberry lemon tart or maybe a caramel and coffee flavored tart but I am not too sure how I will make it happen. I’ll get back to you guys on that after I ponder the thought for a while.

If you are looking for the original recipe I will leave the link at the bottom but here is what I did which is very similar but I did tweak a few things here and there but it is all the same concept. Makes 12 tarts.

IMG_0201


Ingredients for the Cookie Tart

  • 16 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar + 1 tbsp.
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (mini if you can find some)

Ingredients for the Vanilla Buttercream

  • 12 tbsp. unsalted butter (softened)
  • 5 cups powdered sugar
  • 5 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • chocolate chips for garnish

Directions for Cookie Tart

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream the butter until smooth consistency.
  2. Add the egg and vanilla to the butter and mix until thoroughly combined.
  3. Add in the flour, baking soda, and salt and mix until it all comes together and then stir in the chocolate chips until evenly combined.
  4. Spray the tart pans with a tiny bit of non-stick spray and begin pressing the cookie dough into the tart pan and up the sides evenly and then cover and refrigerate the tarts for at least an hour to harden into the pan.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350°.
  6. Place the tart pans onto a cookie sheet and put in the oven for about 15-17 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Remove the cookie sheet from the oven and place the tart pans onto a cooling rack. Once the tarts have cooled you may remove them from their tart pans and continue cooling.

Directions for the Vanilla Buttercream

  1. In a mixing bowl cream the butter again.
  2. Slowly add in the vanilla extract until combined and begin adding powdered sugar and milk, alternating each ingredient until fully whipped together to the perfect consistency.
  3. Add the frosting to the top of the cookie tarts once they have completely cooled. I used a piping bag and a star tip to add the frosting to the tarts.
  4. Whimsically add the remaining chocolate chips on top of the frosting.

IMG_0205

These treats were delicious and for me I find it very enjoyable to bake because once I’m done I disperse the treats to my friends and family for them to enjoy so its like I’m doing a nice thing and relaxing all at once. I hope you all love this recipe and give it a shot. thee are so many options when it comes to tarts so I do not doubt that this will be the first of many tart posts. Have a lovely week everyone and I look forward to your likes and comments. Thank you!

xoxo

Original Tart Recipe:

http://thewellflouredkitchen.com/2016/05/27/chocolate-chip-cookie-tarts-vanilla-buttercream-filling/

15 thoughts on “Vanilla Cookie Tarts

    • Ash's to Ash's says:

      I know right!? I didn’t even think about it either till I saw it on pintrest and they are so good. But if you make them I would add a little more butter or brown sugar to the dough 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

