Skewer Meals

To be honest I am very new at cooking and I never really explored past making basic pasta dishes and hamburgers on the stove top….not too adventurous. It wasn’t until November of 2015 that I decided I needed to learn a few tricks because my boyfriend and I decided to get an apartment on our own. I’m sure you can guess by the title but my latest adventure has been skewers and what you can make on them. In this post I will show you how to make an appetizer, main dish, and dessert all on skewers. It’s actually really easy and there are so many other things you can put on them which I will list late on in the blog.

Out of all the options I think dessert was the easiest because it was obviously involving fruit and a beautiful thing called chocolate. They are all very easy to make and skewers are easy to find and use. Just be careful not to get a splinter in the process or accidentally stab your own hand while pushing food onto the skewer…..yes that happened to me at one point.

Skewers are that one thing that can be used in any occasion and it quickly adds a little touch of ‘Yeah I know what I’m doing’ flare, when you really have no clue like myself.

Lets begin with an Appetizer Skewer! I chose a very simple vegetable skewer with Zucchini, squash, cherry tomatoes, and red bell pepper. I seasoned them with a little bit of lemon pepper and stuck them in the oven for about 5 minutes at 400°. Super quick and easy!

IMG_0275

Main Course Skewers are next. I chose to make shrimp skewers with minced garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil. I allowed the shrimp to soak in a bowl with all the ingredients and then put the shrimp skewer onto the grill and let it cook for about 5 minutes alternating sides.

IMG_0273

Last but definitely not least, we have the Dessert Skewer! I chose to make some fresh strawberry and banana skewers with chocolate drizzled over the top. These were the easiest out of them all and absolutely delicious. The only thing I would like to do different is add marshmallows but without the marshmallow these are a healthy snack.

IMG_0244

There are a number of things I could make with skewers but I figured I would start off with these simple recipes and work my way up. There could definitely be another skewers post in the future but for now I will leave you guys with just these three. I hope you all enjoyed this quick little cooking post and that you will give some of these recipes a try for yourself. If you do try some of them I would love to know how it goes in the comment section below. Have a lovely week everyone!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Skewer Meals

Leave a Reply

