Chocolate & Fruit Breakfast Pastry

This is my first time working with puff pastry so bare with me. I saw this recipe for a Double Chocolate and Fruit Breakfast Pastry on my twitter feed and I was dying to try it because of how delicious it looked. I will even leave a link at the bottom directing you to where I found it if you prefer to see the original. This is most certainly not the healthiest breakfast item but it is certainly worth trying on a cheat day. Although I am sure one of you food connoisseurs out there could make this look much, much prettier than I did so I look forward to seeing anyone else try to make it.

I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day but I am one of those horrible people that never make time for breakfast or put in the effort to make breakfast. I’d rather sleep those extra 15 minutes than get up and eat before work. Hence why I decided to make this little gem. I’m hoping that I will find some breakfast bakes that I can make and eat really quick before I run out the door.  After making this I already have other ideas of how to change the recipe; possibly a raspberry and white chocolate or blueberry. I have a feeling I will experiment with this recipe in the near future.


Ingredients

  • Puff Pastry Sheets (I used Pepperidge Farms)
  • Nutella
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate
  • Strawberries
  • Bananas
  • Almonds
  • Egg Wash
  • Powdered Sugar (Garnish)
  • Melted Chocolate (Garnish)

Directions

  1. Have pastry dough thawing because it is usually sold frozen and preheat oven to 350°. Roll out dough once it is mostly thawed and lay flat on a dry surface. Then cut into 8 triangle slices, sorry I forgot to take an image of me cutting it.
  2. Place slices into a circle on a greased baking sheet.
  3. Spread Nutella onto each slice all the way around covering about half of each triangle.
  4. Sprinkle milk chocolate morsels towards the bottom of each triangle.
  5. Cut off the stems of each strawberry and slice them in half and place them around the pastry on top of the chocolate then slice up the banana and do the same.
  6. Sprinkle some almond slices around the fruit and begin to fold each piece into the center, pinching down on the dough to hold it in place.
  7. Grab a kitchen brush and brush egg wash all across the top of the pastry dough so it gets a nice golden coloring when it bakes. Put in the oven for about 25 minutes or until golden.
  8. Once your pastry is out of the oven and cooled, drizzle chocolate across the top and sprinkle some powdered sugar and left over almond slices across the op to give it that perfectly delicious pastry look.

*If you are more of a visual person like myself, I have included step by step images below, besides the cutting  picture that I forgot to take…


img_0442img_0444img_0445img_0446img_0447img_0448img_0449img_0451img_0454

 Even though this was very simple to make, I have a feeling that I will not keep up on making it like I want myself to. I do however want to try making a raspberry and a blueberry version so when I do that I will have to keep you guys updated on which one I found to be the best. I might even make a post with all three comparing each flavor and what tastes better and what doesn’t….hmmm the wheels are already turning on that post idea. I am writing it down as we speak haha I would also like to mention that if any of you have photography tips for food please let me know. I know I need to improve on how I display items.

Have a wonderful day and I hope you all enjoyed this weeks post ♥

xoxo

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chocolate & Fruit Breakfast Pastry

Leave a Reply

