Red Velvet Madeline Cookies

Well, its officially the Holiday season for me. So much so that I am even busting out a Christmas time recipe. I love Christmas!!! I have always been a fan of the classic soft and moist Madeline cookie but why not change it up every now and then. I always past the Madeline cookie pans in the baking section and thought they made very pretty cookies but never thought of making them myself until I thought of these possibilities. Now this is definitely something that has been done before but I had never seen. The recipe I am using is a typical Madeline cookie recipe just with the added cocoa powder and red food coloring (If you had no idea that was the only difference in a red velvet cake mixture then I am so sorry to break the news….I was quite upset myself when I found out). However I do believe it tastes different than white or chocolate cake mix and I love it.

img_0460

img_0462

Now, you never need a reason to bake something delicious but this time I do and I would love to share it with all of you fellow readers. I am currently still trying to get into the meat department at my job so I can be on my way to become a meat cutter/butcher. I have been working hard for over 6 months to get into that department and my opportunity has finally come up. Unfortunately I am moving stores and leaving all my wonderful co-workers that I have grown to love, but I will be moving to a store where 3 other people that I used to work with now work which makes the transition 10 times easier. So, the reason I am making these cookie is to say hello and thank you to my new meat department crew in hopes to win them over as not only co-workers but also good friends (you can always win with sugar). With that being said lets now move onto the recipe itself.


Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. red food coloring
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. vinegar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • powdered sugar for dusting

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 355° F.
  2. Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder in a separate bowl and set aside.
  3. In another bowl mix butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Add in red food coloring and mix until thoroughly combined.
  5. Mix in one egg at a time until combined.
  6. Mix in vanilla extract, milk, and vinegar.
  7. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients that are in a separate bowl until combined.
  8. Grease your Madeline Cookie Pan and pour in red velvet mixture about 3/4 of the way full for each cookie.
  9. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until you can stick a knife in the cookie and it comes out clean.
  10. Cool on a baking rack and dust with powdered sugar once completely cooled.
  11. Enjoy!

img_0464

img_0468

I couldn’t believe how hard it was to find that pan though. I went to 4 different stores, all of which had a good sized baking section and I finally found my pan at Sur La Table. It’s always the last place you look that you find whatever it is you’re looking for.

img_0457

I hope this inspires some of you to be excited for the Holidays and makes you jump for joy! For me this was a perfect day for baking because it was cold and rainy so I lit some candles and got to baking. I also suggest trying these with melted chocolate, I would have done those as well but I forgot to pick up the melting chocolate and I figured the powdered sugar would be just as picture perfect. ♥

xoxo

8 thoughts on “Red Velvet Madeline Cookies

  1. BeckoningBeauty says:

    Hello Lovely!
    You are nominated for the Liebster Award 2016! If you would like to get involved, all of the information is on my recent post on beckoningbeautyblog.wordpress.com! I love your content and your pictures are so good! I can’t wait to read your answers for the award!
    Much love,
    Becca

    Like

Leave a Reply

