Slow Cooker Shrimp & Corn Chowder

Everyone always says, “Get a slow cooker!” “Their amazing!” “It’ll change your life!”. I always thought they were a little sketchy because I don’t like the idea of something being on for that long and especially having something on for that long and leaving the house. But, I caved…. Lee and I got a slow cooker and although I am still a little worried about leaving it on all day and leaving the house, it is wonderful.
Our first test run recipe was simple pulled BBQ chicken and it was so juicy and tender that I ate two BBQ chicken sandwiches that night.

The second we brought it home I instantly started looking up slow cooker recipes on Pinterest to see what I could make. Then I found out that you can make soup in slow cookers! I know I might sound like an 80 year old lady by saying this but I love soup. give me a French onion soup or classic clam chowder and I’ll be happy. Probably my favorite soup is a delicious Shrimp & Corn Chowder. I couldn’t find an exact recipe for it so I’m just winging it a little but I am going off of a basic Corn Chowder recipe I found. I don’t think I ever go off of an exact recipe, I always manage to change something somehow.

img_0475


Ingredients

  • 8 oz. can of sliced carrots
  • 8 oz. can of corn
  • 8 oz. can creamed corn
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 1 tsp. parsley
  • 1 potato diced
  • 6 oz. can evaporated milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 lb. shrimp meat
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Throw all the ingredients, except for the evaporated milk, cornstarch, and butter, into the slow cooker.
  2. Add water or Chicken broth on top of the ingredients and just enough to cover all ingredients.
  3. Cook on high for 5 hours or until all vegetables are soft.
  4. Add in evaporated milk, cornstarch, and butter and stir until combined and allow to sit for 15 minutes in the slow cooker.
  5. Throw in the shrimp meat and stir until combined and allow to cook on low for 15 more minutes and serve.

img_0480

I couldn’t believe it was that easy either! I thought for sure it would be more work but I was wrong. One thing I will say is that next time I think I might try using heavy whipping cream instead of evaporated milk to give it a creamier taste, or maybe use less water. Either way I still loved this recipe! I’m thinking of experimenting with this slow cooker and trying several different recipes so be ready for upcoming slow cooker posts. haha What’s better than soup on a rainy and cold day anyways?

xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Shrimp & Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

