21st Birthday Celebration

Everyone knows that when it comes to your best friends birthday it is quite a big deal. To top that off it was also my best friends 21st birthday which makes it out to be an even bigger celebration. My best friend, Esther, and I not only look a lot a like but our birthdays are only 20 days apart. I, myself just turned 21 on November 1st and her birthday is November 21st. Since I live on my own I decided to go all out and plan a birthday to remember for her and began to decorate.Obviously I could have done a lot more but in my smaller apartment it would be hard to shove in a bunch of people and throw a surprise party, especially since my boyfriend is trying to get some sleep in the next room. A small party for two seemed perfect though. I went to my local Paper Source and started the decoration process with a banner to write ‘Happy 21st Birthday Esther’ on and purchased some clear balloons to fill with confetti to go with my theme. I went with a black, gold, green, and white theme with touches of that trendy light brown paper bag color to give it a more classy look. I have been searching on Pinterest for weeks now and I love what I have pieced together. My only problem is, I was not entirely sure how I wanted to display the balloons. I could either pin them to the walls and ceiling or I could have them filled with helium and just let them float around or blow them up myself and have them just lie around the floor. I kind of just ended up mixing it up a little and got some variety balloons along with the clear ones and had them placed all over the apartment.

img_0519

img_0521

Since it is her 21st birthday and she does enjoy her fancy cocktails I couldn’t let this be a dry party. I prepared her favorite drink, Mint Mojito, and displayed all the contents nicely on this gorgeous iron hammered tray that I bought from World Market.

img_0517

img_0520

Honestly, I am not the biggest drinker so purchasing Bacardi White Rum was a little weird for me haha I like my virgin mojitos way more than the real thing!

img_0515

img_0516

If I could afford it I would have gone way more over the top on the decorating and gotten those giant number balloons that say ’21’ and more bunting and probably a bigger bar set up just for fun. I do love all the decorating though and I was so excited for her to see everything I put together for her special birthday celebration. I can’t wait till she’s turning 22 now! To be honest I’m even more excited to put up all my Christmas decorations. If it weren’t for planning her little birthday bash I would have already had them up haha I’m getting my Christmas tree on Friday so it will be a quick transition from birthday to Holiday.

img_0526

I hope you all enjoyed seeing how I celebrated my best friends birthday and that you think of your best friend on their special day as well. Have a lovely day!

xoxo

contact: Simplyashleys.blog@gmail.com

 

5 thoughts on “21st Birthday Celebration

Leave a Reply

