Marshmallows

When Lee and I moved out I got super into cook books and had the thought that I would actually use them……well better late than never I guess haha I decided to crack open my marshmallow recipe book and give those a try. The lovely creators of this recipe are the same people that wrote the book All Things Marshmallows so head on over to your local bookstore and check it out!

I never thought of making my own marshmallows until I saw this cookbook and I can’t believe I haven’t tried this sooner. At the beginning of the cookbook it gives a basic plain marshmallow recipe and all you need to do is add the desired flavored so thats what I did. I went for a vanilla Marshmallow flavor with a marble design.

IMG_0922

The recipe was a bit strange compared to any other dessert I’ve made. Total in time it takes about 10 hours to make but that all depends on how long you let the marshmallow set which needs to be at least 8 hours, I just let mine set over night. Ingredients you will need are:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 1 1/8 oz. powdered gelatin
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 tsp. light corn syrup
  • 3/4 cup + 1 tbsp. cold water
  • cornstarch and powdered sugar for dusting

If you want to add a flavor into the marshmallow just add 1 tsp. of whatever flavored paste you desire into the mixture right before you pour the mixture into the 9×9 baking pan.


Recipe:

  1. Whisk egg whites until stiff peeks form and set aside.
  2. Gently whisk the boiling water and gelatin until fully combined.
  3. Put the granulated sugar, light corn syrup, and water in a pot and boil on the stove top for 10 minutes to make a thick sugar syrup.
  4. Add gelatin mixture to the sugar syrup and then gently pour into the same bowl as the egg whites and mix for 10 minutes or until the mixture looks like lightly whipped cream (this is where you would add additional flavoring).
  5. Pour into lightly greased baking pan and make sure the marshmallow mixture is spread out evenly.
  6. Before covering the marshmallow I added a few drops of black food dye and took a sharp knife and made lines through the black dye to create a marble look.
  7. Tightly cover baking pan and let sit in the refrigerator for at least 8 hours.
  8. Once it is done setting gently turn out from the baking pan on a dusted surface and cut the marshmallow to a desired size.

If this recipe for marshmallows sounds like a tad bit of works, it is. I looked at a few different recipes and all are the same technique but trust me it is worth it! If it wasn’t for the heat wave coming through my town I would have definitely enjoyed a nice cup of hot cocoa with my marshmallows.

IMG_0923IMG_0924IMG_0927IMG_0928

Have a fantastic week everyone! Thank you for all your patience with the late posts 🙂

xoxo

 

 

Contact: Simplyashleys.blog@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Marshmallows

Leave a Reply

